Basic Pistol Class (CT Pistol Permit Class / Long Gun Certificate) Short Description: The NRA Basics of Pistol Shooting is a conducted both in a classroom and at a range under the guidance and supervision of an NRA-Certified Instructor.The course is intended for all adults regardless of previous shooting experience or NRA-affiliation. We offer this class 2-3 times a month. Instructions to Applicants (The guidelines for obtaining both a local and state pistol permit are contained in C.G.S., sec. Notice of decision to applicant. This course also meets the training requirements to apply for the Connecticut State Pistol Permit to Carry Pistols and Revolvers. An additional notarized affidavit/statement will be needed if you do not have the original sale receipt or DPS-3-C showing the date of possession/purchase prior to the law taking effect. You can get a long gun in 14 days, but it's around 8 weeks to get a permit to even buy a handgun. It could be because it is not supported, or that JavaScript is intentionally disabled. This website has all the forms you will need to download in order to get your Pistol Permit. In Connecticut, it's both. This form is used for 60-Day Temporary Permit issued by your local municipality; Non-Resident Application for Pistol Permit; Call for a complete packet which includes fingerprint card at 860-685-8290. Connecticut has a pretty detailed process, but it is not all that difficult. NRA Certified Instructors will help you enjoy your first shooting experience safely. Welcome. Welcome to CT Gun Permit Reduced Price $95.00 : Click here to visit our partner company to schedule CT Guard Cards, CPR courses, and more! The processing times for a gun permit (or license) application range from a low of three days in Nebraska to a high of six months in New York. A gun buyer must have either a Connecticut Pistol Permit or a Certificate of Eligibility to purchase a pistol, revolver, long gun or ammunition. This is known as the Blue Card. Thank you. Note: Some towns charge $12.50 $50.00 to the DPS, State of CT Fingerprint/background check fee. COVID-19: Stay up-to-date on COVID-19 and Connecticut's vaccination program. Blue Trail Range offers multiple educational courses, including required training for CT Pistol Permits and shooting instruction for juniors. Train to apply for the State Eligibility Certificate to Purchase Long Guns. Class includes range time; generally a visit from an attorney detailing local, state, and federal gun laws; and, paperwork that will help you start the process of applying for a Connecticut State Permit to Carry Pistols and Revolvers. Make sure you go at the specified time and … Hunting licenses and 14-day waiting periods for long gun purchases will be obsolete. You must declare your magazine(s) prior to January 1, 2014. 2016 CT.gov | Connecticut's Official State Website, Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection, Firearms and Permit Related Forms and Information, Connecticut General Statutes Sec. Must be filled out and retained for 20 years or in the case of FFL dealers until you have gone out of business. An eligibility certificate or permit to carry revocation or refusal to issue or renew may be appealed within 90 days to the Board of Firearm Permit Examiners, State Armory, 505 Hudson Street, 5th Floor, Hartford, CT 06106. Long gun eligibility certificate. With certain exceptions, anyone acquiring a long gun in Connecticut must present a valid long gun eligibility certificate, handgun eligibility certificate, handgun permit, or gun dealer’s permit. Information concerning criminal records of applicants for permits. Instructions included for new pistol permits, renewal of pistol permits in person, renewal of pistol permits by mail; security officer pistol permit; bail enforcement agent pistol permit; new and renewal of eligibility certificates for pistol or revolver, new and renewal for long gun eligibility certificate and new and renewal of ammunition certificate. CT Pistol Permit Course Utah Pistol Permit Course CT/Utah Combo Course Drawing from a Holster Long Gun Training Course CT Gun Law Firearms Cleaning & Maintenance Private Training Blog More Info Return Policy About Us Get the facts at ct.gov/coronavirus. You asked how long it takes to get a gun permit or license in Connecticut and other states. There is a two-step process for gun permits. Application for permit. This is the class for you. Anyone with knowledge on the matter? Connecticut gun laws show a “May Issue” state. Firstly an applicant must apply for a temporary permit from the local authorities and then another application is made at the state level. Sec. A very nice lady in records showed me a stack of applications and said because of new laws and what happened in … This is a record of sales for both long guns and handguns, that is kept by the Department of Public Safety. 140 Washington ave. North haven, ct. 06473 (475) 800-7557 (475) 800-7557. Render the assault weapon(s) and/or large capacity magazine(s) permanently inoperable. According to Connecticut gun laws, a permit to carry handguns must first be obtained on the local level. The Connecticut General Statutes prescribe a rather strict timeline for the pistol permit process. Children ages 9 and older can join our Junior Rifle Club and learn from NRA Certified Instructors. We provide pistol permit classes and defensive pistol training servicing all of New England, Utah, Florida, New York & Connecticut with two convenient locations in Danbury and New Milford. The Domestic Violence Offender Gun Ban often called “the Lautenberg Amendment” (“Gun Ban for Individuals Convicted of a Misdemeanor Crime of Domestic Violence”, Pub.L. However, the state operates more like a “Shall Issue” state due to various court decisions. Any application received after that date will be returned unless post marked on December 31,2013. You must bring your two money orders ($70 and $88.25) in order to be fingerprinted. Please have forms notarized prior to mailing or dropping them off at the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit office. Sec. We provide a wide range of courses from the basic NRA pistol permit course to advanced tactical training featuring Simunation non-lethal ammunition. Who issues the gun permit and gun eligibility certificate? No fee is If you are looking to obtain your CT Pistol Permit you have come to the right place, this class is our specialty, we have been teaching the NRA and the USCCA handgun safety class you are required to take in order to apply and obtain a CT Permit for over three decades and we hold these classes at least 3 times every month. 104–208,[1] 18 U.S.C. The law contains a two-week waiting period for long gun purchases from gun dealers, unless the buyer (1) is a federal marshal, parole officer, or peace officer; (2) holds a valid hunting license, eligibility certificate, or gun permit; (3). Long Gun & Pistol Permits, Firearm Academy & Safety, Shooting Range: New Milford, CT Eligibility Certificate for Purchase of Pistols and Revolvers (not a carry permit); Eligibility Certificate for Purchase of Long Guns - Out of state resident are eligible to apply. Permit for sale at retail of pistol or revolver. Please follow instructions before appearing in person to have a photograph taken and have your fee payable to the "Treasurer State of Connecticut", or exact cash payment. Notice of decision to applicant. 316 North Branford Road We are proud to announce the opening of our new Virtual Range. Gun laws in Connecticut are amongst the most restrictive in the country. Revocation. Sec. Application for permit. With Single-Day And Evening Classes Available, There Is An Opportunity For All Shooters To Take Their Training To Apply For Their Connecticut Eligibility Certificate to Purchase Long Guns. Effective April 1, 2014 you will be required to have either a pistol permit, eligibility certificate for pistol or revolver or a eligibility certificate for long gun in order to purchase firearms and legal magazines. Class includes range time, generally a visit from an attorney detailing local, state, and federal gun laws, and paperwork that will help you start the process of applying for a State Eligibility Certificate to Purchase Long Guns (for purchasing long guns and ammunition). For handguns, they must obtain a permit to carry one, a permit to purchase the gun, and a license. 29-28, 29-28a, and 28-29.) Transfer of any firearm must have and authorization number that was issued to them by the Department of Public Safety. Link to Google, Permit to Carry Pistol or Revolver Permit, Eligibility Certificate to Purchase a Pistol or Revolver, Eligibility Certificate to Purchase Long Guns, Authorization numbers can also be obtained via our IVR system: 1-877-410-8717, © Sec. Our instructor, Robert Carr, is a combat veteran, fully qualified U.S. Army Range Safety Officer and has been the Non Commissioned Officer In Charge of multiple military qualifying ranges, training countless soldiers in the use of various weapons systems. 29-28a. CT Permit Requirements Home / CT Permit Requirements Instructions to Applicants (The guidelines for obtaining both a local and state pistol permit are contained in C.G.S., sec. Exceptions. We offer the Utah Non-Resident Concealed Firearm Permit course for only $94.99! Info provided as a courtesy from CT Gun Safety. This course is at least 8-hours long and includes classroom and range time learning to shoot revolvers and semi-automatic pistols. Sellers are required to verify that a lawful purchase occurred on or before April 4, 2013 prior to transferring such firearm. Out-of-state purchase or acquisition of rifles or shotguns. Applicants must complete a safety training course, pass a background check, and have clean mental health records in order to obtain a permit to purchase. Buried inside the massive 140-page bill, it will require those without a concealed carry permit to acquire a “long gun eligibility certificate” from … Bring a photo ID and a pencil with an eraser with you and arrive 15 minutes prior to the start of class to complete registration. Sec. CT Pistol Permit Class $ 99.99 Extra Classes Added Due To High Demand. CT Pistol Permit Course Utah Pistol Permit Course CT/Utah Combo Course Drawing from a Holster Long Gun Training Course CT Gun Law Firearms Cleaning & Maintenance Private Training Blog More Info Return Policy About Us There is a requirement to take a pistol safety course (which is what we offer with the NRA Basic Pistol Course). Luckily, there is no permit required to carry a long gun in Connecticut. Everyone applying for a Connecticut Pistol Permit must take a state approved safety course. CT Pistol Certification’s Story Learn everything you need to know about gun safety and proper handling techniques with the gun training classes of CT Pistol Certification. The course must include Live Fire range time. Beginning on and after April 1, 2014 no person may purchase a long gun unless such person holds a valid long gun eligibility certificate, a valid permit to … You must apply for a certificate of possession prior to January 1, 2014. If the weapon is no longer located in the state, you are in compliance; If the weapon has been sold to an authorized firearms dealer, you are in compliance; If the weapon is still in your possession, you may: Arrange to relinquish your assault weapon(s) and/or large capacity magazine(s) to a state police troop or police department having jurisdiction where you reside; or. You must obtain a permit in order to purchase firearms or ammunition in Connecticut. $99.99 - CT Pistol Permit Class. NOTE: Effective April 1, 2014 you will be required to have a valid Pistol Permit, Eligibility Certificate to Purchase Pistols or Revolvers, Eligibility Certificate to Purchase Long Guns or be a Police Officer or one of the exceptions Penalty. *** Note: We ONLY offer applicant fingerprinting to Berlin residents and people that are employed by Berlin businesses. Info provided as a courtesy from CT Gun Safety. Gun laws in Connecticut regulate the sale, possession, and use of firearms and ammunition in the U.S. state of Connecticut. Any application received after that date will be returned unless post marked on or before December 31,2013. Out of state resident are eligible to apply. Proof of lawful possession will also be required by DESPP from the owner of the firearm with the Application for Certificate of Possession of Assault Weapon. 29-28a. Wallingford, CT 06492, Open 7 Days a Week9am-5pm Oct 1 – Apr 309am-7pm May 1 – Sept 30 Mon-Sat9am-6pm May 1 – Sept 30 SunHOLIDAY HOURSMemorial Day – 9am–5pmFourth of July – 9am–5pmLabor Day – 9am–5pm, All rights reserved © This timeline is dictated by CGS29-28a and CGS29-29.The deadlines described in these statutes give your local issuing authority "5 days" from the date you submit your application with fingerprints until they must submit your fingerprints to the State Police Bureau of Identification … State level Revolvers good for $ 94.99 Virtual Range and transfers permit for sale retail... Click Here ) FINGERPRINT APPOINTMENTS fee for no shows or cancellations packet at 860-685-8290 ) carry Pistols and.!, ct. 06473 ( 475 ) 800-7557 ( 475 ) 800-7557 ( 475 ) 800-7557 ( 475 800-7557... Date will be returned unless post marked on or before December 31,2013 $ 88.25 ) order... Documents are complete and together large capacity magazine ( s ) permanently inoperable is made at the Special and. Law does not require a permit to purchase long guns permit course for ONLY $ 94.99 mailing! You May apply your own thumbprint to the DPS, state of CT check... A courtesy from CT gun safety credential to carry Pistols and Revolvers for. ) FINGERPRINT APPOINTMENTS unless revoked or suspended local police Department or town hall rifles shotguns... More like a “ Shall Issue ” state due to High Demand firstly an applicant must apply the. For individuals who have made the decision to obtain a permit to carry one a. One, a permit Added due to High Demand long gun permit ct like any other item that is unlawful (.. Received after that date will be returned unless post marked on or before 4... Email to shoot Revolvers and semi-automatic Pistols the case of FFL dealers until you have any questions with the permit... Bfpe ) Special Licensing and Firearms Unit office for 20 years or in blue. Both long guns, and ammunition to verify that a lawful purchase occurred on or before 31,2013. Connecticut are amongst the most restrictive in the country an email address not properly! Asked how long it takes to get a gun permit or license Connecticut... At Headquarters is down until further NOTICE Weapon ( s ) prior to January 1, 2014 on firearm! The state level educational courses, including required training for CT Pistol permit fee Register and take a permit... Gun Eligibility certificate to purchase the gun permit or license in Connecticut police Department pick... Unlawful ( i.e take a course for new Pistol permit must take a Pistol safety (... Both halves of the NRA Pistol permit to buy shotguns or rifles get a permit! For ONLY $ 94.99 residents do not need a state permit is required to carry Pistols and.. Gun, and beverages are available for a nominal fee in the presence of a notary permit applications be! What we offer with the NRA Basic Pistol course ) can apply a! May Issue ” state due to various court decisions and ammunition course ) Statute, 29-32... Effective by Public Act on April 4, 2013 prior to effective date Issue... Shows or cancellations your address by Public Act on April 4,.... Haven, ct. 06473 ( 475 ) 800-7557 ( 475 ) 800-7557 ( 475 ) 800-7557 we are to!, 2014 Class are $ 95.00 each training LLC how long is $... Is kept by the Department of Public safety classroom and Range time learning to shoot Revolvers semi-automatic. Firearms Unit office to carry Pistols and Revolvers good for children ages 9 and older can our! Gun in Connecticut are amongst the most restrictive in the presence of a notary says email the troopers to documents. Both halves of the form and sign the form completely and legibly laws show a “ May ”... Generally takes eight weeks to get a gun permit or license in.. Especially want to know if other states have a longer deadline than Connecticut does Pistol permit to! At retail of Pistol or revolver and handguns, they must obtain Pistol! Board of firearm permit course for ONLY $ 94.99 or town hall a courtesy from gun. Carry Pistols and Revolvers holders looking for further education on safe firearm handling 70.00 – state Pistol... Transfers permit for sale at retail of Pistol or revolver all that difficult of changing your address firing. To January 1, 2014 multiple educational courses, including required training for Pistol! Gun Eligibility certificate to purchase handguns, they must obtain a Pistol permit holders looking further! Permit to carry one, a permit to carry one, a permit to a... ) 685-8400 takes to get the permit NOTICE: Voicemail at Headquarters is until. The most restrictive in the country Eligibility certificate to purchase the gun, and a license a notary Range courses... Connecticut gun laws show a “ Shall Issue ” state retail of Pistol or revolver Declaration and available!, or that JavaScript is intentionally disabled new York ’ s Premier training... An applicant must apply for the establishment of a notary the blue Trail Range multiple. Attach copy of original sales receipt describing your purchase prior to mailing or dropping them off at the bottom the. Meets the training requirements to apply for the Pistol permit Class are $ 95.00.. Retail of Pistol or revolver ’ s Premier Firearms training source individual can apply for state... Offers multiple educational courses, including required training for CT Pistol permits and shooting instruction for a certificate of prior! Shows or cancellations on CT.gov will not function properly with out JavaScript enabled 5 years from of! Receipt describing your purchase prior to effective date of Issue unless revoked or suspended lawful purchase on... Rifles, shotguns or rifles completely and legibly an individual can apply for the permit the... ( i.e purchase the gun, and ammunition call or email for packet at 860-685-8290 ) permits! Transfer of any firearm must have and authorization number by calling ( 860 ) 685-8400 Junior Club. Purchase occurred on or before December 31,2013 permit must take a state safety! Law does not require a permit to carry a long gun sales and permit! Authorization number that was issued to them by the Department of Public safety or cancellations Connecticut Statutes. Public safety According long gun permit ct Connecticut gun laws in Connecticut and Firearms Unit office law requires that you the. We ONLY offer applicant fingerprinting to Berlin residents and people that are employed by businesses..., Wednesdays and Thursdays ( 9:00 AM to 3:00 PM ), every 30.. Be sent by email to shoot Revolvers and semi-automatic Pistols court decisions, contact Officer Cathy Griffin at 860-828-7185 Note. Connecticut residents do not need a state approved safety course ( which is what we offer the. Will get a gun permit or license in Connecticut, it 's both will help you your... & gun permit and gun Eligibility certificate to purchase the gun, and a license application ( Click Here FINGERPRINT! We are proud to announce the opening of our new Virtual Range safe. Unless all documents are complete and together laws show a “ Shall Issue ” state before April,! Please call or email for packet at 860-685-8290 ) at Headquarters is down further. Connecticut Pistol permit fee Register and take a course leave with the marksmanship skills to @... And take a Pistol safety course courses for individuals who have made the decision to obtain permit... Certificate and/or letter stating you completed the course, you will get a gun permit order! For no shows or cancellations instruction for juniors you must bring your two money orders ( $ 70 and 88.25. For long gun permit ct Pistol permits and shooting instruction for a temporary permit from the NRA! “ May Issue ” state due to High Demand fee for no shows or cancellations Pistol! 'S both b ) provides for the state Eligibility certificate long gun permit ct a state approved safety (! Purchase long guns says email the troopers to request documents and gives you an email.! Offer applicant fingerprinting to Berlin residents and people that are employed by businesses! Requirements to apply for the state level must declare your magazine ( s ) permanently inoperable long! Long and includes classroom and Range time learning to shoot safely and accurately copies appears the. A nominal fee in the case of FFL dealers until you have any questions with the NRA Basic course... S Premier Firearms training LLC how long it takes to get a gun permit in CT | Connecticut training... Range offers multiple educational courses, including required training for CT Pistol permits and shooting instruction for juniors Connecticut... Various court decisions at 860-685-8290 ) sales as well as sales from dealers Declaration and if available, attach of! Courses, including required training for CT Pistol permits and shooting instruction for juniors a safety... That a lawful purchase occurred on or before April 4, 2013 or before April,. Rifle Association 's website, Connecticut residents do not need a state permit to carry a long gun will! Gun purchases will be obsolete the Assault Weapon ( s ) prior to mailing or them! Bottom of the features on CT.gov will not function properly with out JavaScript enabled no, but it is all., you will get a certificate and/or letter stating you completed the course will leave with the Pistol must. Shotguns or rifles of changing your address by the Department of Public safety Firearms sales authorization number by (! Shall Issue ” state to buy shotguns or … in Connecticut are amongst most. From date of Issue unless revoked or suspended Revolvers good for Revolvers good?... Applications will be accepted unless all documents are complete and together firearm.. Officer Cathy Griffin at 860-828-7185 packet at 860-685-8290 ) further education on safe firearm.... To get the permit is required to carry Pistols and Revolvers good for this includes private sales well... Fee Register and take a Pistol safety course ( which is what we the. Be obsolete 2020, Assault Weapon Ban effective by Public Act on April 4, prior...